Grocery Budget Getting Tougher

As I mentioned in my previous post, we are sticking to a budget of $100 a week for groceries and household supplies. Well, we are steadily using up our stash of food and pantry items.

Sausage, Onion and Potatoes

Sausage, Onion and Potatoes

In the past, we had built up a nice supply of meats in our freezer. We had the basics like ground beef and chicken breast that could be used for a variety of meals. We use them pretty much every week making stuff like spaghetti, sloppy joes, fried chicken or orange chicken. Well my stash of meats are almost all gone and now I need to start adding more meats to my weekly shopping list. The cost of chicken breast at our local Aldi’s is $5 to $6.50 a package. Ground beef costs $4 to $6 a package. That adds up quickly.

We are going to start eating more meatless meals and meals that include meats we can find on sale whenever possible. One example is sausage, onion and potatoes. It’s really yummy, filling and makes a lot.

I also need to buy things like laundry detergent and cleaning supplies. Unfortunately we have to purchase dye-free, fragrance-free laundry detergent – we all break out in rashes otherwise. I’ve found a store or cheap brand at Weis for $2.99, but would love to know if anyone knows of a cheap brand that still works good.

So you see I finally have to add some common household items and more meats into my weekly budget. I would love to hear any advice you can offer and I will keep you updated on our progress.

About Kimberly Shavatt

Stay at home mom to 3. Blogger, writer, photography lover, and lifetime learner.
This entry was posted in budgeting, groceries and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment